The Home of the Brave?

Today’s Five Minute Friday post topic: “Brave.”  Join me and others…

Now, set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

I’ve all ready posted a few comments and read a few blogs about this topic of the day.  I had a couple hours extra to pause in my head about this topic.  My laptop was stuck in the office with my father in law.  I don’t like blogging on the tablet.  So…as we rushed to get my father in law and husband out the door for the weekend trip for a family event…I had a chance to ponder the word “brave.”

This week our 3 year old son has been stuck on a book: Oh Say!  Can you see

It is an awesome board book despite the 2 star ratings of Amazon’s 4 reviews…I’d give it a 5 star rating!  It is a great board book with the lyrics to the Star Spangled Banner in it and a 10 song CD of patriotic American songs.  I love it!  Our sons love it!  So our three year old can sing it on his own now, and I bravely must endure listening to it again on repeat song #1 on the cd in the house, the car, and in the book!

Brave.  We moms live in the home of the brave.   We break away from the computer screens to do real life.  I wanted to be by my screen this morning doing my blog, facebook, pinterest, Twitter checks…but instead I bravely did real life.  I helped serve breakfast to the family and our guest.  I hauled out the stamps and stamp pads at 7 a.m. for our 3 year old to be creative on a whim.  I packed our 6 year old’s lunch for school, and had a shower with my husband.  Got dressed…still have wet hair, but I encourage you to be brave today.  Step out from behind the computer screen your phone screen and participate in real life.  With real people.  With your family, with strangers, etc.  It isn’t always what we want to do, but it was we need to do.

1 Chronicles 19:13

Be strong, and let us fight bravely for our people and the cities of our God. The Lord will do what is good in his sight.
We have to be brave in order to let the Lord work…to let our families work.  Thank you Erin for your words this morning…
“It doesn’t mean saying no to everything else, but rather saying a brave YES to God and the ones with whom you are blessed to share a home.”
April 2013 131
3 thoughts on “The Home of the Brave?

Leave a Reply

