Acknowledge His Name in The Rain

“Through HIM then let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to GOD, that is, the fruit of lips that acknowledge HIS name.”  Hebrews 13:15

Through Him we receive continuity.  He reminds us of great gifts worthy to be praised.  When we speak his name…it is fruit.  Sweet.  Nourishing.  His name.  Jesus.

Do we speak to Jesus in the joy?  In the pain?  In the sunny weather?  In the rain?

Yesterday, I ran four miles in what began as a sprinkle.  Four women set out for a regularly scheduled run down a familiar road.  What emerged though was a run in the pouring rain.  There was no lightening or thunder…just a steady morning rain.  It was exhilarating, cold, scary, and peaceful.

Exhilarating because I remember fondly running in the rain in my younger years…in high school track/cross country practices…in Florida it rains a lot in the spring and summer.  Serious runners practice daily.  Rain or shine.  It’s kind of fun to run in the rain especially with friends.  (By the way I’m not a serious runner any more…I’m lucky to get in 2-3 runs per week!)

Cold.  When you get wet to the core.  It is cold.  I don’t really like being cold.  At one point in the run I turned back early.  The group was set to run 5 miles.  I didn’t want to do that in my head.  I was willing to turn back alone just to be done sooner.

Scary.  I never run alone in the dark.  My friends asked, “are you sure?” when I wanted to turn back early.  I said, “yeah you go ahead I’ll text you when I’m driving home.”  I ran quickly through the rain, thru the dark, and fast!  Nothing motivates you more to pray and run quickly than the fear of someone jumping out of the bushes to get you!  No body jumped out of the bushes…cars drove quickly by, and I made is safely back to my car.  Thank God I even packed a towel yesterday!

Peaceful.  Running alone and especially running in the rain is peaceful.  I did not need to speak to friends yesterday.  I needed to speak to the Rain Maker.

Father God,

Thank you for the rain.  Thank you for the sweet and powerful peace it brings.  Running through the rain reminds me that You are always there.  You fell to Earth to be with us…to be one of us.  Your Son walked through this world, navigated hard times, and died on a cross to save each and every one of us.  We need Your cleansing power.  We praise you for your goodness.  Seeing your grace in the sunny and rainy days of my life, thank you for being ever present. 

Amen, and amen.

4 thoughts on “Acknowledge His Name in The Rain

  1. That was beautiful Jennifer…I’ll be running today, physically and spiritually. That was a wonderful reminder that He is heavy upon us on the rainy days.

    Like

    1. Glad you get to run today! It’s my off day. Another dreary and rainy day here. Glad that we have spiritual running partners in our community of Believers and He who makes us stronger for the runs!

      Like

  2. Jennifer, I loved this post! It made me think of running through the storms of life and how hard it is to keep pressing on, when life and burdens are raining down upon us in torrents. But, there is a race to be run, and we must keep putting one foot in front of the other. The enemy lies behind every “bush” along the way, but we are more than conquerors through HIM that loves us! You made it safely to your car, and, by God’s grace, we will make it safely home one day! You blessed me abundantly this morning. So glad you visited my blog yesterday, which allowed me to find yours! God is so good. Have a blessed day in Him, my dear GSD sister! Love, Cheryl

    Like

    1. Cheryl-
      Your comment warmed my soul. I see every glimmer of grace as a little sermon of sorts…God speaks to us in such special ways! I’m thankful to have fellow God-sisters online to share in the journey. We have so many beautiful people in this world! Our heavenly home is awaiting…what a wonderful place that will be! Jennifer

      Like

Leave a Reply

