More Than We Deserve

Last night I wrapped up a book by Max Lucado…

Grace MORE THAN WE DESERVE GREATER THAN WE CAN IMAGINE>

It was a wonderful read.  I read it in snip-its.  That is what moms do.  We read when we can…

in the bathroom, on the couch when the kids are watching cartoons, while watching them swim, after children fall asleep and before they awake. 

Max’s books are always delightful.  This one I bought for my husband at Christmas time, and he hasn’t even read it yet (at least I don’t think so).  He’s a fast reader though…so he may have all ready plowed through it.  I’m not in a book club with my husband needless to say.  Perhaps I should be?~!

One of my favorite parts of this book was that he leads each chapter with scripture and quotes that pertain to his topics.  I’m a huge fan of scripture and special quotes.  The written word can penetrate you.  Grace is a feeling, an experience, but words wash us.

“Grace is the gift of feeling sure that our future, even our dying, is going to turn out more splendidly than we dare imagine” –Lewis Smedes p. 129 (Max Lucado’s Grace)

“Grace is not blind.  It sees the hurt full well.  But grace chooses to see God’s forgiveness even more.  It refuses to let hurts poison the heart.” –Max Lucado from Chapter 5 “Wet Feet” in “Grace.”  paired with Ephesians 4:32 (p. 175 Grace)…

“Be kind to each other, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you.” –Ephesians 4:32

So yesterday I had my moments of needing grace and giving grace.  Every day is filled with those moments.  We screw up.  Others’ screw up.  How we react can be sinful or godly.  So much easier to be sinful.  So much pain inside to throw outside.  However, it is in the giving of grace and kindness that we circle back into the love that God meant for us all to share. 

When have you experienced grace?  When have you shared grace lately?  I’m on a mission of seeking glimmers of grace.  The grace in my life comes slowly, but it is sparkly and oh so beautiful.  When we are clean and pure-hearted, forgiven, we are fresh and new.  Grace is a process.  We must accept the gift and give it to others as we love one another deeply.  We are not perfect without the perfecter of our faith…Jesus continues to speak to my heart.  How does he speak to yours?  He is more than I deserve.

For more info, reviews, and to purchase on Amazon click here.

 

Leave a Reply

