A Friend For All Time…

This post is a part of Lisa Jo Baker’s Friday Five Minute Challenge.  Today’s challenge…let’s spend our five minutes of writing today, sharing about friendship. Fight it, love it, hate it, hurt or healed by it, we were certainly built for it.

Set a timer and just write. Don’t worry about making it just right or not

Friend…

August 2012 297

I have a friend for all time.  Her name is Sara.  She and I met in the fifth grade.  She had moved in from another state, and I had never moved.  We both were in the right spot at the right time.  Our friendship grew quickly and soon we would spend endless Friday nights hanging out at one another’s homes for sleepovers.  Thru elementary, middle, and high school friends were added to our inner circle…however, two remain…she and I.

She and I went to different colleges in different states.  Married men from different regions of the country, but we both have boys born on the same day…five years a part.  Our boys met each other for the first time here:

August 2012 266

Sara and her husband are expecting their second boy, and our journey of raising boys, navigating life, and remaining friends will likely continue.  We do not see each other often, but we talk when we can.  When she calls me or I call her we can chat easily for 20 minutes or more if time allows.  Picking up right where we left off.

Picking a friend isn’t easy.  True friends are hand selected by God I think.  He picks a few very special ones that cross your path and remain in your path if they are meant to be a part of your longer life journey.  Sara and I were in each others’ weddings, and I know we will likely watch our sons get married together also.  You see God is a God of faith.  He brings us to friends sometimes for a short time and sometimes for the long haul.  Whatever type of friend(s) you have they are a blessing.  Or, scratch that…sometimes they are not a blessing, and you need to have the insight to move on.

It is in moving that we sometimes see who are most true friends are.  When we move, do they carry on the friendship?  Do we put in enough?  Do they reciprocate?  I like Sara and I like this…

Photo Credit here: http://b-krafty.blogspot.com/

4 thoughts on “A Friend For All Time…

  1. Jennifer,
    I love what you said about God having a hand in our friendships! When I think about it, I can see his fingerprints all over the connections that mean the most to me. Thanks for sharing your heart about friends!
    Valerie

    Like

Leave a Reply

