I Want It Now…

I find this quote hysterical because of our fast paced and immediate gratification oriented world. Doesn’t it fit me, our kids, and almost every one?  However, God wants us to be patient.  I want my kids to learn patience.  In Wal-mart yesterday we were loading our card with the misc. items of the week.  Our 6 yr old son got a $7 LEGO set as a reward for earning high marks on his recent report card.  My mom always took me shopping for a special treat to reward our good grades…I always liked that.  After all even adults work for the pay check!  So…in Wal-mart…

Our younger 3 year old son wanted some treats too.  I got him some cookies, peanut m & ms, and some small doo-dads for his Crocs (about $7 worth of items to match his brother’s treat).  Then he found this really cool spinner thing that was in the outdoor/pool/summer section.  It was $10.  I said “no, you can play with it but we aren’t buying it.  You need to be patient and wait for your birthday.  It’s coming up soon.”  He said, “mom I really hope Santa brings me that for my birthday.”  Oh how we want and wish for so many things.  We want a lot…and we want it now.

We live on a cash budget and try to avoid debt.   I told our son that being patient is hard for adults too.  I cannot get everything I want at the store either.  We don’t have enough money for all our heart’s desires.  Contentment is key.  Counting God’s graces and blessings helps. What behaviors are we modeling for our children and friends?  We are teaching others how to live…

Colossians 3:12

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.
Leave a Reply

