The Water is Freezing…Jump in Anyway!

We love to just write without worrying if it’s just right or not. For five minutes flat.

Here’s how we do it:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat on the prompt “After” with no editing, tweaking or self critiquing.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in {you can grab the button code in my blog’s footer}.

3. Go and tell the person who linked up before you what their words meant to you. Every writer longs to feel heard.

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes for the prompt:

Jump…

In 2004 my husband and I traveled to the Grand Canyon.  We flew from Atlanta to Las Vegas.  Then boarded a small plane form Las Vegas to the start point of our white water rafting trip.  We met our group, and my husband’s “Uncle Mryon Cook.”  Myron was a river guide.  He guided many trips down the Colorado River…that runs through the canyon.  We were blessed to be a part of one of his runs.

“Runs” down the canyon are adventurous.  You navigate white water, glance at red rock canyon walls, and truly experience God’s Glory in the creation of such a marvelous place.  It is full of history, beauty, and danger.  You need a guide.  Don’t we all need a guide?

God is my guide, and he directs my paths, reassures my fears, and gives me grace for the journey.  The journey of life is very complex.  Our journey down the canyon was simple.   Follow the guide’s directions.  Enjoy the ride, the hikes, and the swimming.  Yes we swam in the really cold water.  One of my favorite memories…

The jump.  The jump from the canyon wall into the pool of chilly water.

A popular swimming hole - Elves Chasm

This image and more stories of the canyon can be found here.

I jumped.  I really don’t mind heights.  I just don’t like to be cold.  The water in the canyon is cold.  However, once you’re in it’s really fine.  The sun heats you back up.  It is sometimes in the jump that we find the joy!

“I call on you, O God, for you will answer me; give ear to me and hear my prayer.” –Psalm 17:6

2 thoughts on “The Water is Freezing…Jump in Anyway!

Leave a Reply

