Knowing When to Run and When to Take Your Running Shoes Off

Hebrews 11:1

New International Version (NIV)

Faith in Action

11 Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Today’s a running day for me.  Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays are the days that I “meetup” with a local running group to run before the dawn.  It is hard to wake up early and run.  I would prefer to stay in my “jams” (as we call our pajamas around our house) and sip my tea, write on my blog, read other social media, and dive deeper into God’s Word.

However, sometimes it’s time to put your running shoes on!  I’ve got 5 minutes by the way.  I read an interesting online devotional from “Girlfriends in God” this morning by Sharon Jaynes.  Sharon talked about Hagar and her story of running away.  God greeted her with a question…

The question akin to the very first question He asked Adam and Eve in the Garden (Genesis 3:9). “Where have you come from and where are you going” (Genesis 16:8). Of course God knew where she had come from and where she was going, but Hagar needed to say the words, just like we need to say the words.

Where have I come from?  Where am I going?  I know where I’ve come from.  Two Christian parents raised me in Central Florida.  Thankfully, I’m blessed to have returned to my “homeland” this past year to raise my own family in the same region of the country.  Where am I going?  I’m never sure on that one.  We have moved a lot!  My husband is a dreamer and doer you see. 

His job and career goals have sent us to many interesting places.  We have met amazing people, and we have encountered hardships along with joy.  I know that our journey isn’t over.  I hear from him that his current job role may be changing.  Neither he, nor I know what this next curve in our journey will entail.  However, after reading God’s Word, I trust Him more every day to show us the way, walk in faith, and know that I don’t have to run away spiritually.  No.  I will walk with him daily. 

Daily is a walk.  Sometimes we must exercise too (wink, wink)!  I mean run!  So…off I go to keep my body strong so that I can walk through life with our boys as a healthy woman who is spiritually and physically fit.  What are your plans for today?

 

Leave a Reply

