His Compassions Never Fail

Lamentations 3:22-24

New International Version (NIV)

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
    therefore I will wait for him.”

Reading Holley Gerth’s blog yesterday, as I try to do often…She posted a title “Popping the Cork Off Your God-Sized Dream”…

“We’ve talked a lot about “what” your dream is and now it’s time to tackle the “why” behind it. Why is your dream worth pursuing, fighting for and seeing through no matter what happens?”  If you want to see how others answered this question hop over to her site by clicking this icon:
https://i2.wp.com/holleygerth.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/God-Sized-Button.jpg
 
 
Now, my answer to the question was found in God’s Word this morning.  See Lamentations 3:22-24 above.  I had all ready highlighted that scripture with ink bracket and double fish another day previous (not sure when)…the double fish is the icon of Community Bible Study.  Today’s CBS lesson in Hebrews redirected me back to that verse to answer a question for today’s lesson.
 
Today’s lesson to my heart: his compassions (plural) are new (sparkling like treasure) every morning (today, for always).  Why do I want to start a Moms in Prayer group for my children?  I need to be in God’s Word, and when I am I feel strengthened and encouraged.  I have never prayed God’s Word over my children faithfully.  I on occasion will find a verse I like read it, think of them, but I am not intentional about praying God’s Word over them consistently.
 
Consistently I sin.  So do my children.  Last week we had to discipline our son for a surprising infraction against a babysitter.  Sin creeps in, and the Word often slips to the sideline.  I may be building my own armor, but am I preparing my childrens’ hearts for the battles they face?  We take them to church on Sundays, but I intend to do more intentional prayer for my boys on a daily basis. 
 
Dear Heavenly Father,
Thank you for your Son.  His great love saved me and all who believe in You.  I pray You will continue to breath life into Your Word as I read, ponder, and pray it over myself, my family, and others. 

Lamentations 3:22-24

Good News Translation (GNT)

22 The Lord’s unfailing love and mercy still continue,
23     Fresh as the morning, as sure as the sunrise.
24     The Lord is all I have, and so in him I put my hope.

2 thoughts on “His Compassions Never Fail

  1. Thank you for being so open and honest. I do not have children yet…but what you wrote here I think about and fear when I become a parent. That’s so awesome you are going to start a Mom’s in prayer group!!! God Bless!

    Like

  2. Hi Jennifer,
    Thank you for introducing yourself over at my blog. Love the verses and photo you shared. I want to encourage you to be part of Moms in Prayer…I have been in a group for our school for the past 5 years and it is such a HUGE blessing to pray Scripture over your child and over your friends.

    Blessings in Him,
    Dolly

    Like

Leave a Reply

