Life is Like a Bowl Full of Citrus

Image

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23 NIV

Life does involve sweet and sour moments.  Sometimes I sweetly bow in prayer and feel the healing powers of God’s goodness, grace, and Holy Spirit.  Other times, I act sour rant, stew, or act stubbornly as a selfish, sinful creature.  Citrus…like life…is the same.  Sometimes it is great, fruitful, refreshing.  At other times it is terrible, rotten, and sour.

Today, I read a great review of Lara Williams’ book seen below:

Click Icon for Link to Amazon.

I may have to purchase that one after lent.  I gave up online shopping for lent.  As a busy mom…it’s way easier to do online shopping, but it has its pitfalls also. I digress.  Here is a review of the book from a blog that I follow…ohAmanda.com:

One of my favorite chapters was about prayer and praying God’s Word. (That’s kind of a theme with me, you know.) Lara says,

“In Hebrew, the word ‘meditate’ means ‘to utter.’ It means we aren’t just thinking about God’s Word–though we want His Word filling our minds. It means we’re speaking God’s Word. To live the blessed life, His Word needs to be on our lips.

 

Thank you Amanda for sharing those words with me today!  As a fellow God-sized dreamer, I often get caught up in reading God’s words and blogging about them.  I need them to fall off of my lips.  I need to share the sweetness with others.  I pray that I will be able to memorize and talk about scripture with others more easily and freely.  With my God-sized dream of starting a Moms in Prayer fellowship group…I will have to be bold and brave to do just that.

Moms in Prayer is a mom’s group that meets to pray scripture over our children.  How sweet.  Now for the sour part.  Not many women have time or are comfortable doing this.  So…I patiently will wait.  Knowing God has a bigger plan for me in this arena, and even if it is just me alone in the group (God willing not)…then I will be changed through the Word that nourishes and refreshes.

God-Sized Button

2 thoughts on “Life is Like a Bowl Full of Citrus

  1. Hi Jennifer. I love the analogy of joy being a fruit and gracing our lives with its sweetness. In those sour moments we all experience life can feel anything but joyful. Yet, God wants us to have joy through the trials. It springs from a heart deeply rooted in faith and trust, believing that ‘even in this’ He is good, faithful and loving. His word which “nourishes and refreshes” takes root in the soil of faith and needs to be affirmed and spoken out too, as you suggest here.
    I appreciate the link to Lara Williams’ book. It looks really interesting and helpful in the review you highlighted. As an avid reader I am tempted to buy a copy! Thank you. Be blessed in pursuing your God-sized dream. He always has more in store for us than we dare to imagine. Over from Holley’s page. 🙂 xx

    Like

  2. Praying for the sweetness of your dream to always overcome the sour of waiting. It’s so hard, isn’t it, to wait … I’m terrible at it. Especially waiting for things that are so obviously good and useful and in line with Scripture.

    Keep at it … and I cannot wait to celebrate with you when that Moms in Prayer group first meets!

    Like

Leave a Reply

