Patience Please

What do you really want more of in your life? Will you dare to say it out loud?

I really want more patience.  As Lightening McQueen would say, “Speed, I AM SPEED.”  I like things to happen quickly, at my pace, and in my timing.  God and my family don’t go with this break neck pace that I want or wish to set.

My boys were very slow to go to sleep last night.  I wanted to watch The Biggest Loser.  My husband was at a meeting, and with bed time flying solo I’m a sucker.  I’m not as tough as my husband or as patient.  He lays with the boys longer than I like to.  I spend all day with them…I’m ready for me time come 8 p.m.  Our boys begged to sleep together last night, and they were so cute, and so funny.  They were defiant “yes.”  However, I tried my best not to lose my cool and stay in control. 

Control ties in with patience.  Patience allows time to expire, things to happen in their own time.  I want to be in control of how the day and nights go.  I want a schedule…my schedule.  However, life is just not like that.  When you start your day daily with God’s Word is slows you (me) down.  I start gradually to see what God has in mind for my day.  I still like to go fast…

Spilled the milk when pouring too quickly for breakfast,

Dropped my husband’s suit coat to the floor when I was in a hurry to find a rain jacket for our 1st grader to get out the door for school on this rainy day,

Wondering why no one has responded eagerly to my requests to join in a Moms in Prayer fellowship group with me in the fall.  (This is my God Sized Dream)  It’s in the fall 2013…most people don’t plan ahead like I do!

So…today, I ask for more patience, and less speed.  I want to slow.  Taking in the glimmers of God’s grace, I feel peace.  What is your God-Sized Dream?  How will you get there?

Ecclesiastes 7:8

The end of a matter is better than its beginning, and patience is better than pride.patience
God-Sized Button
 
 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Patience Please

  1. Patience is such a hard one! Yay, you dared to say it out loud:) Praying for your dream and for the influx of patience you desire, fellow dreamer. Blessings to you.

    Like

  2. Okay, it was the pirate picture that drew me in. Hilarious.

    You know, you’re never supposed to ask God for more patience. That’s a prayer that will never be answered in the way you want it to be. Talk about opening the floodgates…

    I’m the same way, though. Lord, help us.

    Like

  3. Love that pirate picture!

    Your description of hurrying resonates with me. I was always in a hurry, trying to get the girls to go faster than they were really able. I regret that now, but have passed that wisdom onto my pregnant daughter. Ah, the power of hindsight! I still have trouble with patience, too, so that is a struggle for me. However, I am learning more to follow (that was my OneWord last year), but also to commit (this year’s word) to action and move forward in His time. It all comes together so much better when I do that! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

