At Home I Find Hidden Hope

   I woke early today…

Our youngest calling out for mommy.  He has leg pain in his shin again.  Growing pains?  We’re not sure.  He also wet the bed.  He’s nearly four years old, and we are transitioning from diapers to big boy underwear at night.  Potty trained by day…wet sheets at night.  Fostering independence vs. battling the awakening and laundry…a mother’s modern woes.

Hidden in my home this morning I find signs of HOPE.  Grace glimmers abound, and I thought of the Easter and spring symbols in our home.  Eggs and butterflies…both symbols of hope and home to me.  A butterfly starts as a odd looking caterpillar and transforms…truly a God transformation/creation.  Eggs house life.  Baby birds come out of them…who what of thought that in looking at an egg!  Also, they provide life giving nutrients for us when we eat them for breakfast, bake with them, etc. 

So…in our house this morning…

ImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

So…amidst the chaos of bed wetting, homework all over the dining room table, and a cluttered kitchen fridge…I find images of Christ.  In  HIM we find our true HOME and HOPE. 

Hebrews 10:16-17

New International Version (NIV)

16 “This is the covenant I will make with them
    after that time, says the Lord.
I will put my laws in their hearts,
    and I will write them on their minds.”[a]

17 Then he adds:

“Their sins and lawless acts
    I will remember no more.”[b]

Footnotes:

  1. Hebrews 10:16 Jer. 31:33
  2. Hebrews 10:17 Jer. 31:34
2 thoughts on “At Home I Find Hidden Hope

Leave a Reply

