Leaving

God-Sized Button

Holley Gerth is a Christian woman, writer, and encourager.  She has written a few books, and I stumbled upon reading one through an order I made at Dayspring…filling my cart with enough stuff to get free shipping!  So, I read her book a few months back, and now I am a “God Sized Dreamer.”

My dream–to start a Moms in Prayer group for our community.  I want to fellowship with other women who have children that attend our son’s school also.  In gathering, we will pray scripture over our children, the teachers, the staff, and one another.  Strength for the journey comes through prayer.

Prayer has shaped this unfolding dream because in the fall, I will have to leave some groups in order to maintain the balance of my time and energy.  I would like our Moms in Prayer group to meet weekly, so that led me to explore…which day of the week?  After plenty of prayer, and in talking with others, I think I have figured out that Fridays will be our day.  So what will this stay at home do to fill her other days?

I am working toward going back to work part-time at a new job.  I will work Tuesday and Thursday mornings as a part time pediatric speech-language pathologist.  Another God-sized dream…I really do enjoy helping children and families with speech, language development–getting paid to read books, play, and share what I have learned as an SLP (and mom) is quite rewarding.

Mondays were sprinkled with a mom’s group at a local church, I decided to leave that too.  Our boys are growing up, now nearly 4 and 7 years old.  I have been a part of mom’s groups in three different states, and I’m really not a “mom’s group” kind of girl.  I don’t like to make or eat brunch.  I’m a natural introvert, so forcing the extrovert interactions amidst a table of women I hardly know was (and is) hard for me.  The speakers never really enlightened me too much (however, a few were golden).  Same with the women, a few golden friendships will always be treasured in my heart.  I know God brought me to those mom’s group for a season, to bring out the extrovert hiding in me, and to develop a calm sense about leaving my child(ren) with other adults for a few hours of “me time.”  Now, I feel I’m ready to fellowship with women in a new way.  Thus, the God’s sized dream.  It’s much easier to show up at a mom’s group than lead your own.  But, I feel God tugging on me to spread my wings in a new way.

The last day of the “work week” Wednesdays is presently filled with Community Bible Study.  I am going to pray on this one too for the fall.  I have been invited to join a Wednesday morning tennis league with a lady in our neighborhood.  I realize the power of staying in the Word so I fully intend to participate in a Bible study of some sort to feed my spirit, the Spirit, in order to fill others (Moms in Prayer).  Tennis is a long time love for me, and I think the social and fitness time there is important also.  So, the prayers continue.  We are a part of a new church, and I am eager to learn more about their ministries, Bible study, etc.  For now, one day at a time.  Word in via Hebrews 6:7-8 today (CBS), and Hello Mornings’ Abounding Hope study of Job 1:6-12.  Lessons of today:

Hebrews–> we, the land, produce the fruit of the Spirit and blessings when we abide in Him, but when we fall away…a control burn can bring about better growth

Job –> Satan is allowed to test us, but God always sets the parameters.

https://i0.wp.com/media-cache-ec7.pinterest.com/originals/b2/95/75/b29575064f1c96e8e3ef465c3dd46a81.jpg

3 thoughts on “Leaving

  1. Hi Jennifer. It’s great to meet you. I am also a fan of Holley Gerth and sharing this God-sized dream journey with you! It is partly scary and partly exciting as we reach out for all that God may have in store for us this year. So agree that “Strength for the journey comes through prayer” as we rest in His ability rather than our own. Your verse from 2 Corinthians 4:7 is a particular favourite of mine as God has proved himself strong on my behalf time and time again. I love the idea of a ‘Moms in Prayer’ group and can see how great the need is in every community for such an enterprise. Though my 2 sons are fully grown and independent now, I really would have loved to have had a group of supportive, praying fellow mothers to encourage me with their upbringing. May you know God’s courage and strength for your personal walk with Him as you seek to minister to others through the dream He has placed on your heart. Blessings 🙂

    Like

  2. I love the quote at the end of this post. What a great reminder that our plans aren’t always God’s plans. I love how you are being so purposeful with your time too! Gives me lots of food for thought. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

