Masks

2 Corinthians 4:1-2

Since God has so generously let us in on what he is doing, we’re not about to throw up our hands and walk off the job just because we run into occasional hard times. We refuse to wear masks and play games. We don’t maneuver and manipulate behind the scenes. And we don’t twist God’s Word to suit ourselves. Rather, we keep everything we do and say out in the open, the whole truth on display, so that those who want to can see and judge for themselves in the presence of God.
 
I have had a rough week.  Women have disappointed me this week.  It seems I keep reaching out to spend time with others and encourage others, but few reach back to me.  True friendship shouldn’t be so hard my husband says.  He listens, he loves, and he encourages.  However, I want good girl friends here, now.  I get frustrated when we move; I try hard to make new friends, but attempts often fail.
 
You see I fail at times because I wear masks.  I have found that my best friends along this journey called life are those that know the true me, the me without the mask.  My husband has been listening to me about the woes of the week.  He questioned what I meant by “masks” that women wear.  “Why do these masks upset you so much?”  Good question.
 
Masks hurt me because I don’t want to wear one!  I want to be authentic, broken, and vulnerable.  However, the World seems to want makeup, well-put together outfits, and the “everything is fine” answer to “how are you?” 
 
Our World is caught up in sin, and I want to be caught up in Him.  His blood, his sacrifice, was messy.  We are messy.  I want women to come alongside me that are willing to show me “their messy.”  I want us to pray for each other, be authentic, and realize that we are not perfect…nor should we pretend to be.
 
This delightful book was a perfect re-read for me this morning.  It was sitting in our book basket, calling out to me.  Steve Tiller writes beautiful words to accompany the art of Harry Teague.  You see, Harry Teague had a stroke in 1990, and his mask fell off.  He discovered art as a form of communication.  As a speech therapist, I have worked with people who have suffered strokes, and in fact my grandfather inspired me to enter the field along with promptings from my mom and aunt.  Strokes change people.  However, the person is still inside with a Spirit that wants to speak.
 
The Spirit wants to speak through each of us too.  And, if we are too busy putting on masks, we will miss the opportunity for God to speak through the authenticity of you and me.  I am praying for women, and for myself, to drop the masks.  I want to listen to the Holy Spirit and be guided by God’s Word.  Maturing in my faith, I am ready to drop the masks.  Are you?
 
“When I use my heart to see, I find you feel the same as me!
Some would like to be a star!  Or be accepted for who they are.
We all just want to get along, and really feel like we belong!” 
Leave a Reply

