Fight

“You can rise above the world below.” –Colton Dixon  “Rise”

I have had to “rise” and  fight some battles in recent years.  We all fight for little and big things.  We fight for health, balance, relationships, and for our faith.  Today, I woke early.  I have a very scratchy throat.  So, I entered quietly into our kitchen to gargle with warm salt water, per my mom’s sweet echo in my mind.  As I stood there, gargling…

I saw an image of “the fight…”

Image

Our son has over 100 LEGO mini-figures lined up in rows on our kitchen ledge.  I’ve let him leave them there for weeks because I like seeing them!  Today, it reminds me of the beauty in the fight.  God is with me always of course, but more importantly I have an army around me…

my husband,

my children,

my neighbors,

my friends,

my Bible study buddies,

my parents,

my sister,

and our extended family.

Life is forever a battle.  We brave the battle because He calls us to do so.  As moms, we go short on sleep, high on energy chasing kids, and God fills our cup when we need weapons of war against the world that crushes in.  I have battled depression, anxiety, fear, and frustration.  Jealousy, selfishness, and anger can trump the fruit of the spirit deeper within…

Galatians 5:22-23
But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

You see sometimes my words, especially The Word, speaks louder than actions.  I was telling our 6 year old son about the fruit of the Spirit in the car yesterday.  He said he did not tell on a friend at school who hit him on play ground.  He has his own battles of course.  I told him that he was showing the fruit.  Named them.  Later, in the day I did not show them.  Once my husband came home, I gave up.  I ate dinner quietly, retreated to the office, and went to bed early…briefly tucking boys in bed. 

My words spoke louder than my actions yesterday.  However, today I am preparing to “fight.” 

I am going to fight this sore throat, and fight to show God’s love to my children, family, and most importantly myself.  I am loved.  You are too.  We can fight together.  But, for now…

Exodus 14:14

The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.
2 thoughts on “Fight

  1. Jenn, there is so much goodness in what you have written here. I was on the phone with a friend just this afternoon speaking about self-control and the fruits of the Spirit! Your Exodus quote is dear to me as well. Thank you for visiting my blog today and leaving such encouraging words. I’m so grateful that you left this link too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

