Suffering

Suffering is not a happy fun topic.  I know.  However, it penetrated my heart this morning through my prayers and time in the Word. 

1 Peter 1:3-9

New International Version (NIV)

Praise to God for a Living Hope

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the end result of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

This reading came across my radar through a “Hello Mornings” reading that was part of our daily reading from Abounding Hope, a 13 week Bible study, by Katie Orr and Lara Williams.  I’m a part of a Twitter group that encourages one another daily on our faith journey.  These “Hello Mornings” groups meet up each fall and spring on Facebook and Twitter.  Totally awesome way to start the day with other Christians who are online daily!

My take away from today’s reading:

My trials in the past and present shape me and shape others.  My faith is valuable, like GOLD!  My true hope and riches are waiting on the other side of heaven. 

“These (trials) have come so that your faith–of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire–may be proved genuine & may result in praise, glory & honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.” –1 Peter 1:7

Image

Interestingly, God’s Word coincided (of course) with my daily reading for Community Bible Study in Hebrews. 

Hebrews 5:7-8

New International Version (NIV)

During the days of Jesus’ life on earth, he offered up prayers and petitions with fervent cries and tears to the one who could save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverent submission. Son though he was, he learned obedience from what he suffered

Take away:

We learn obedience and dependence from suffering.  I pray more when I’m hurting or when others are struggling.  I have cast tears to the sky for sure.  God heals broken hearts.  He could have made an easier road for Jesus (for us), but His divine purpose is revealed through suffering.

My prayers today are different.  I pray that I will be obedient.  I pray that my children will continue to hold out hope for heaven.  Our six year old struggles to make friends right now, and I remind him that we will always love him and Jesus is always with him.  Praying 1 Peter 1:8-9…

I pray that although Addison has not seen You, Addison will love You and even though he does not see you now, Addison will believe in You and he will receive the goal of his faith, the salvation of his soul. 

This is a prayer of intercession found in the Moms in Touch Prayer Book.  My God-sized dream is to be able to pray these type of prayers over not only my children but over all the students and staff of our local school.  Our schools and the people within them are suffering.  We all need Jesus.

God-Sized ButtonLink to other God-Sized Dreamers

2 thoughts on “Suffering

Leave a Reply

