You Are

Hebrews 4:15-16

New King James Version (NKJV)

15 For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. 16 Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

Reading Hebrews this morning.  Chapter 4…the distinction of Jesus is that he walked this world and faced temptation just like we do.  Wow!  Thank you God for sending us the real deal.  We walk through a world that crushes in.  It presses us to make choices that we often regret.  Natural consequences occur, and those shape us too.  When I struggle, I can approach your throne for the grace and mercy.

With grace and mercy we feel more peace….more rest.  Gail Robinson, a woman in my small group at Community Bible Study shared this acronym recently for REST:  

Rest Eternally in the Source of Truth

Do we seek His Truth enough?  Each day we have a choice.  We can seek the truth from our sinful nature and the whispers of the world.  Or, we can seek wisdom from God through prayer and his Word.  Colton Dixon’s songs are playing in my backdrop as I do my morning social media rounds.  He was a top ten finalist on last season’s American Idol 2012.  When we saw the Top Ten in concert, he played the song “Never Gone.”  I realized quickly…this guy is not only talented, but he is going to use his gifts for the glory of God!  I bought two of his songs recently, “Never Gone” and another one “You Are.”  Below are a few lines from “You Are:”

You are the healing in my heart.

“You are the light that is in the dark.” 

“When that day comes, and I see your face, I will sing your endless praise.”

–Colton Dixon’s “You Are”

Jesus, thank you for reminding us that you are the provider of our needs.  You walked this earth, and you showed us how to depend on the Father for direction.  You are grace, mercy, rest, and LOVE.

Image

Photo taken 1/27/2013, Lego “LOVE” from our 6 year old son, a special greeting for my  husband and I on our bedroom floor yesterday morning. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

