Hold

Okay, so I read Ann Voskamp’s 25 Point Manifesto for Sanity in 2013…wow…love it.  Her question to us at the end…What else do we need to keep our sanity in 2013? Let’s all jump in and help make this a resource when we are overwhelmed:  What verse, what song, what comfort, what great idea — got a link for us? What really works for you when you are overwhelmed?  Comment here or at the above link!  The fellowship of others helps us HOLD on to Him.

My word of peace is hold.  I have found that when I am overwhelmed with life I want to be held by my husband, my mom, my dad, my sister, or friend.  I have struggled with depression and anxiety, but even on good days I love to be held.  Who doesn’t?

I have also found when my young boys are sad, scared, or even happy…they like to be held.  Not always in full…but our six year old son still wants to hold my hand often, which I treasure.  We hold them when they cry, we hold them when they want to be snuggled, we hold them when they are scared and need to pray, and we hold on inside to Our Father.  He is our strength within, and he reaches out His hands to me even when I am feeling “alone.”

Colossians 1:17

He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.
This song is playing as I type…I got it for free on Google Play: “Hold On” by Alabama Shakes  . . . “you gotta get back up, you gotta hold on.”  Here it is on You Tube. 
We know there is “Somebody up above.”  He loves you.  He love me.  He will help us hold on.
I’m trying to, but you’re not making it any easier. :(
Photo by: Lana, A Christian college student, click photo to link.
7 thoughts on “Hold

  1. Hello. I love this, because I must HOLD on to Jesus all the time. One song that speaks to me is Mercy Me’s Hold Fast…Help is on the way. I am go grateful to be allowed to Hold on to Him

    Like

  2. What a great thought to have in those overwhelming moments of life.

    This morning I found myself in such a moment and while I was praying for grace and patience in my parenting the image of a seed came to mind. And I was reminded of the verse in John: “…unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.”

    Like

  3. Blessed by your post. I know that feeling of being “alone” – even when surrounded by people. So grateful for those everlasting arms that hold us tight when we need Him most. It’s a joy to find so many like minded sisters here and I’m happy to have bumped into you, FMF neighbor. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

