Jesus said…I am the Light

The Light leads me.  I had a post here, and I accidentally deleted it.  So, here it goes again…

I awake each morning in the dark.  As an early riser I treasure lamp light, night lights, and candle light.  Last night at dinner time I lit a candle in our kitchen, and I discovered this morning that it was still burning.  Safely, thank God.  I have a bad habit of lighting candles and forgetting about them.

Light is a treasure though.  I realized this very recently on our camping trip this past weekend.  We took our boys on our first family camp out.  Suburban campers if you will because we camped down the road from our house at a state park that is about 2 miles away.  So we had McDonald’s drive thru for dinner Friday, I was able to return home for forgotten night time diapers for our 3 year old, and we took showers at home on Saturday.  However, we did cook foil packets on the fire for dinner on Saturday night, and it was “primitive camping” with a group of cub and boy scouts.  It WAS an adventure.  We survived, and I will be ever grateful for lights…flashlights, lanterns, head lamps, and camp fires.

Saturday morning I woke to darkness and a need to pee.  Not fun for the mom who is a bit afraid of the woods.  I managed to quietly exit the tent with my MAG light in hand.  I went in the direction that I thought was the bathroom hut.  No…just woods.  I went the bathroom, listened to a rooster of sorts crowing, and I got lost in the woods.  I was alone…no cell phone, no company, and no husband coming to save me (he was asleep).  I prayed.  God heard my prayer, and I found my way back to our tent in about 5 minutes…seemed like an eternity.

Light led the way, and I am forever grateful for batteries that held on through the whole weekend!  You see Jesus is with us because he is THE LIGHT.

John 8:12 When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

 Jesus is my light and my partner is my God-Sized Dream.  Who or what is lighting your path today?  My boys are enjoying a fire in our living room right now.  Time for me to go enjoy this glimmer of Grace.

Leave a Reply

