Peace Be With You

The Peace is a part of Holy Eucharist II.  I love it.  It is a special blessing shared between congregants that gather in an Episcopal Church.  My husband was raised Episcopalian.  It is “Diet Catholic” in his words.  The Anglican church sprung out of the Catholic church in England years ago.  I was raised Methodist.  It is another protestant faith common in the USA.  Our marriage ceremony took place in a Methodist church, and our two boys were baptized in Methodist churches.  Now, however, we have found a new community of faith in our new city.  We will likely join the Episcopal church near our home.  I have peace.

During the service just before The Holy Communion every Sunday we share in passing “The Peace.”  All rise, and the celebrant says to the people: The peace of the Lord be always with you.  The people say, “And also with you.”  Then the Ministers and the People greet one another in the name of the Lord.  Have you passed the peace today?

I intend to greet my husband with a “Peace be with you” greeting when he returns home shortly.  Weird perhaps, but it is loving for sure.  It is only through Him that we truly feel peace.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. 

2 thoughts on “Peace Be With You

  1. thank you for dropping by my blog and letting me know you used my image. i am glad my drawings can be used to bring glory to God. my father is a Methodist and my mother is a Catholic and in this week of prayer for Christian unity, i am glad i came across your sharing! peace!

    Like

Leave a Reply

