balance

Balance.  It’s a simple word, but it has profound meaning.  My good friend has it tattooed on her arm in small cursive letters: balance.  I asked her, “why that word?”  Her simple reply, “It is what I have learned in my 30s.”  She’s a mom of two teenagers.  I am a mom of two young boys.  She is one of several new mom friends, and I’m grateful she lives in my neighborhood and we can share stories through our love of running.

Running….that requires balance.  If you are a mom, and you try to fit in exercise on a regular basis.  Good for you (& me)!  I try to run a couple of times a week.  I have been running for about 20 years!  I started in middles school.  Thank you God for Mrs. Van Slyke whose sweet spirit guided me, a shy geeky girl, onto the running scene.  I discovered a passion that is still lit within.  I’m a great little runner.  God made me that way.  It has built confidence in my, and it is part of my balancing act.

Here’s a typical day in the life of me…this is now…I haven’t always had this kind of balance!

5 a.m. Wake, read my Bible, emails, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, blogs (my two favorites are pinned on my tool bar: Ann Voskamp’s A Holy Experience and Holley Gerth.  These two ladies have encouraged me to count my gifts and dream a God sized dreams.   I find that if I dedicate the early hours to encouragement and social media then the rest of my day is free to do other stuff!  I have the strength of the Word at my back and the itch of social media scratched.  (I’m not going to lie I do check in on FB and Twitter occasionally on my smart phone later in the day…I get bored sometimes as a mom!)

6 a.m. Run with girl friends or work on my personal blog (ta da!)

7 a.m. Kids and husband are waking…get ready with them, eat breakfast, pack lunches, back packs, etc.

8 a.m. Child #1 is gone to school via the bus…God bless bus drivers…we love you!

9 a.m. Child #2 goes to school two mornings a week…on the other days of the week we get to play, run errands, etc.

10 a.m. Chores around the house or errands

11 a.m. Lunch.  We like to eat early since we are early risers.

12 noon More play time or errand running if my kids are at school.

1 p.m. I get to walk to school with an empty running stroller and return with our sweet 3 year old.  Talk about his day at Mom’s Day Out, and we get some one on one time.

3 p.m. Walk to the bus stop to pick up Big Brother.  Chat with mom friends at the bus stop.  Enjoy a sweet walk home with both boys.

4 p.m. Outdoor play is over, and time to do homework.

5 p.m. Dinner prep…and quick house tidy…dad is nearly home!  Glass of wine for me as I enjoy some ipod music and my freestyle cooking moments! 

6 p.m. Dinner

7 p.m. Wind down for bed with a tv show, tickle-tackle time/pillow fight, Wii with Dad, or activity of the kids’ choosing…baths/shower…teeth brushing…story time…prayers.

8 p.m. Bedtime for kids (and sometimes for me if I fall asleep with them!)

8:30 p.m. Time with my husband…

9:30-10 p.m. Lights out…REST.  A sweet mommy mentor in my CBS Bible Study had great acronyms for REST recently.  Stay tuned…I cannot find my workbook from our Hebrews Bible study.  When I do, I will do a follow up post!

Proverbs 16:11

Honest scales and balances belong to the Lord; all the weights in the bag are of his making.
From: Google Image Search of Social Media Balance Mom: http://www.iheartnaptime.net/finding-balance/
 

 

 

One thought on “balance

Leave a Reply

