My Top Ten Mom Products of 2013

It’s a new year so we all start trying new things right?  Ok, maybe just me.  I am all about trying new foods, wine, Pinterest projects, etc.  I have discovered my new top ten products for moms in 2013.  I’ll share my secrets…I believe that’s what moms should do.  We do not need to flaunt our success but instead share our journey with others to make their lives easier.

1. “Soft Scrub Gel with Bleach”

I have been using the squirty toilet bowl cleaner for years, but I recently saw on Pinterest that is can be used to squirt onto your tile grout.  Our new house has tons of Spanish tile throughout and the tile grout is black vs. the gray it’s supposed to be.  The ground in dirt really does come up with this little trick.  Lay it on thin, wait ten minutes, scrub, and then mop up.  It is a slow, messy process, but it works!

2. “Bon Ami”

It comes in a little can at your grocery store in the cleaning section.  It’s yellow with a little chick on it.  For under $1 it really works awesome on sinks, showers, tubs.  It’s powder, and I love this new little cleaning product.  Thank you to my KS facebook mom friend for recommending it!

3. “Bigelow Vanilla Chai” tea bags

Add a little honey, and it is a great way to start the day.

4. “Cheap White Wine”

It’s a table wine in our grocery organic section.  From CA.  At $6 a bottle…I’m in heaven with a glass while I make dinner.

5. Arbonne’s “FC5 Deep Cleansing Mask”

A friend recommended this to me being that I now have very oily skin in FL.  Apparently hormones change your face in your 30s, and the climate you live in, diet, hydration, etc. impact your skin.  Duh.  I like using this twice a week.  Their cleanser in this line is also good.

6.  Plastic storage bins “Sterilite 6 qt.” found at Walmart stores

97 cents.  Need I say more.  These little organizers made a world of difference for our son’s immense LEGO collection.  We are sorting LEGOS by color for easy visibility, and we can build things more quickly now by finding them by color vs. in the larger boxes with so many pieces/colors.  I got 14, and it is perfect.  We even have a mini-figure box!

7.  “Desperate” by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson 

I ordered this book on DaySpring, and it arrived last week.  I’m reading it now, and it’s a definite must read for all moms of young children and for those that may want to mentor moms.  We are all “Desperate” for joy breaks and strength.  This book gives you some GOD breaths.

8.  Tory Burch Sandals 

at $195 they are a huge splurge, but I was able to snag a used pair on Ebay for $150 including shipping.  I have an older brown pair, but the link here has the newer pair.  In Florida, you wear sandals year round.  These are super comfortable, classic, and fashionable.  I have worn mine more than twice a week all ready.  They are a staple for this mom.  Thank you to my husband for buying them for me for Christmas!

9.  Hang Up Wall Organizer from Thirty-One

I bought this last year, and I’m striving to use it more faithfully in the new year.  We have it hanging in our hall by the garage/laundry room.  It’s kind of big, but it holds 8.5 x 11 sheets of paper which I like.  I made chore charts, and we bubble in the completed chores with dry erase markers.  We also used it for a football checklist/out the door needs.  It’s functional.  I like it.  If you host a party, you can likely get it for free.  That’s what I did!

10.  Arbonne’s Sheer Finish Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 15

Again, we live in Florida.  So, being a mom out in the sun daily, I really like this product.  I never wore foundation before this year.  I like this because it’s light and really blends into you skin.  It’s very natural.  I found as I have hit my 30s my skin is wrinkling some, and this evens you out a bit more than just the loose powder or pressed powder I have used in past years. 

That sums it up.  Off I go.  Time to run and greet the day with my neighbor.  This mom needs to get going before the sun comes up and mom duties kick into full swing.  What are your favorite products that help you feel more beautiful or productive as a mom?

Leave a Reply

