We Need Water

From the beginning, God knew we needed water.

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.  Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.” Genesis 1:1-2 (NIV)

He created water before he created any creatures.  We need water, and he knew that.

However, I tend to forget to water our plants and flowers.  This is the sight I found yesterday morning on our mantle:
Image
I was puzzled earlier this week when my newly purchased flowers from the grocery store were wilting and dying one by one.  I pulled the vase down, and I realized the root of the problem.  The flowers had no more water.  The vase was dry.  I had neglected to care for these beautiful flowers.  When we, like flowers lack water, we wilt and eventually die.
The water of of the Spirit gives life.  God’s Word reaffirms his Spirit in us daily.  Without water, we will perish.
Baptism is our formal blessing of the Spirit of God through water.

John 1:32-34 Then John said this for everyone to hear: “I also did not know who the Messiah was. But the one who sent me to baptize with water told me, ‘You will see the Spirit come down and rest on a man. He is the one who will baptize with the Holy Spirit.’ I have seen this happen. I saw the Spirit come down from heaven like a dove and rest on this man. So this is what I tell people: ‘He is the Son of God.’

I now look at water differently.  It is beautiful and necessary.  Plants, animals, and people need it.  God created it, and we must not ignore our need for water.  It is a blessing that provides life.  Do you and those around you have enough water to fully live?
Leave a Reply

