Whirlwind Wrap up of Joy Dare

Since we traveled to Texas for Christmas and stayed a week, I was missing in action from my blog posts.  I really liked Ann Voskamp’s Joy Dare, so I wanted to finish up the month of December in reflection of the last few days that I missed.  So below you will find my whirlwind New Year’s Day reflections of December’s wrap up…

December 22, 2012

A gift with rejoicing, wonder, praising…

my mental health.  I rejoice because I once struggled much more deeply with depression and anxiety in year’s past.  I wonder why life declares some points stress breaking and other years/months so joy freeing.  Praising him today for this season of mental health.  I feel content, happy, and thankful for a clear mind and energy to be the mom and wife I want to be.

December 23

Three gifts starry…

the eyes of our boys…they twinkle with dreams and desire

the night’s sky that God shines down on us each night

star decor that reminds me of Christ as our guiding “true star.”

December 24

Three gifts humble…

moms with three or more children…they act as if it’s no big deal, but as I observe these women of valor I see them meet the challenges of life head on with grace and strength.  We have two boys, and I cannot imagine being the mom of more…however, I watch strangers and friends with many children juggle it so beautifully.

our parents…they are humble, but they have raised us with such dignity.

our military heroes…they take pleasure and pride in serving our country, but they are truly humble hearted heroes.

December 25

Three girts in Luke 2

verse 14 “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men on whom his favor rests.”

verses 30-31 “For my eyes have seen your salvation, which you have prepared in the sight of all people.”

verse 51b “But his mother treasured all these things in her heart.”

December 26

Three gifts in Christ…

faith, hope, and love.

December 27 A gift found, shared, saved…

We found a new home this year, we have shared it for parties and play dates, and we have saved money to share with others…the Body of Christ.

December 28 Three gifts lingering…

Memories of past communities we have lived in…Tallahassee, south Atlanta, and southwest Kansas City.

December 29 Three gifts of hope…

children, healing after sickness, and restoration through forgiveness in relationships.

December 30 Three gifts remembered…

moments from our Texas trip below:

Image

Frosting Christmas cookies,

Image

Matching Christmas cousins, and

Image

Playing in the chilly weather!

December 31, 2012 Three gifts anticipated…

A Cook Family reunion…to be determined when and where

Time with my sister and our boys in Texas in March 2013

A new job beginning as an outpatient pediatric speech language pathologist…new co-workers and clients will bring new journeys as well.

joy

Leave a Reply

